Tags

, , , , ,

Today was reading day at school followed by coffee morning with the parents.

Today’s conversation was all about baking. Baking for cake sales, baking for kids, baking for family, baking gadgets, baking recipes.

When I was walking home I realized that it has been a long time since I baked a cake. My problem is that my husband only have a slice or two, my kids have none and so I have to eat all the rest.

Eating without sharing has no fun for me and beside that I have to watch my weight.

But now I have an assistant to help me with the eating, my brother, my long term guest.

So today I will bake this delicious Lemon Cake.

Lemon Rosemary Olive oil Cake. Adapt from here.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1 1/2 tbsp fresh rosemary finely chopped
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • Zest and lemon of 2 lemons
  • 3 large eggs

For the drizzle

  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Directions

Preheat the oven to 180ºC.

Grease a loaf pan and dust it with a little bit of flour. The original recipe calls for a tube pan which I don’t have so I used a loaf pan and the result was quite nice.

Mix the flour, the rosemary, the baking powder and the salt in bowl. In another bowl put the sugar, olive oil, milk, lemon juice and the zest and the eggs, whisk everything until smooth. Add this to the dry ingredients and mix until blended.

Bake in oven for about 45 minutes or until a wooden pick comes out clean. Let it cool for 15 minutes before take it out of the pan and then let it cool completely.

For the drizzle: combine the icing and the lemon juice and pour it over the top.

