Tags

, , , , ,

Everybody can cook, says Chef Gusteau. Yes, everybody can cook everywhere but in my kitchen.

In my kitchen I do the cooking and it is hard for me to let anyone help. When someone offers to help I say yes, but only because I am being polite. As soon as that someone starts to put his hands on my ingredients I start to freak out. Then, in a polite way I push him away from my kitchen.

With my kids and husband it is no different. The kids, specially the little one, are always asking to help. It is a hard moment for me. I don’t want to say no because I want them to learn and enjoy cooking. So I usually say yes…then I regret because they didn’t learn a thing, I don’t let them do anything. It goes like this: “Ok! you can mix this… not like that … like this … Ok! let me do it, let mum do it.

So the kids are only allowed to help when I am baking biscuits. They can cut the cookies and decorate them.

Last week there was a revolution: my oldest one, who had  been watching the Ratatouille film, asked me if he could do dinner one day. I said yes and, prepare myself for that day, I started to do some psychological exercises like visualizing the scene and thinking what should I do with my controlling impulses.

I am pleased and proud to say that all went fine. My oldest one made a ratatouille recipe with just a little help from me and his little brother. The result? Well, a superb dinner.

We made up the recipe as it was shown in the film, so I leave you with our version.

Ratatouille

Ingredients for the tomato sauce:

  • 1 large onion diced
  • 2 garlic gloves
  • 1 can of chopped tomatoes
  • Olive oil
  • mix herbs
  • salt and pepper

For the Ratatouille

  • 2 Courgettes cut into slices
  • 2 aubergines cut into slices
  • 2 large tomatoes cut into slices
  • 2 Red peppers cut into slices

Directions:

Heat the oven to 200º C.

Start with the sauce by putting a little olive oil in a pan with the onions and garlic, stir until the garlic starts to colour a bit. Add the tomatoes can, the herbs, salt and pepper and stir for 3-4 minutes. Remove from the heat and blend it.

Spread the sauce in the bottom of a dish pie. Put the vegetables alternately (check the Ratatouille film for details) on top of the sauce. Season with salt and pepper. Cover all with a piece of parchment paper cut to fit inside. Bake in the oven for about 35-40 minutes… et voilá!!

Note: I scattered my plate with feta cheese and It tasted really good.

ratatouille2

ratatouille1ratatouille

