Tags

, , ,

As you all know I have a passion for cooking. Being in the kitchen preparing something for lunch, dinner or just something delicious to bite is one of the most pleasant moments of the day for me.

I don’t need a psychotherapy as long as I have my kitchen. It is between cutting the onions, splashing oils and kneading bread that I deal and solve some of my emotional issues. I calm down my anxiety and knock out my frustrations.

And after cooking, what I like the most is sharing with those I love, although most of the time they don’t like. Definitely my kids are not my best customers, but my husband always makes my day.

I like to share not only the product itself, but the whole process, but I’m not very good spreading my recipes. My family and friends are always asking for my recipes and I keep forgetting. One of the reasons for this is that normally I don’t save the recipe. I am more an improvising cook type. I see a recipe I go to the kitchen and I adapt it with what I have in the fridge and cupboard. After eating it, I just forget all about it as I am thinking in the next one.

So, I decided to share with you, my dear friends and family, some of my recipes here in  this blog. By doing so, I am sharing with all of you and filing my recipes at the same time.

And let’s start with something healthy, tasty and green

Broccoli is one of the few vegetables that both of my kids eat with pleasure. In the other day I decided to make a pesto with broccoli and serve with pasta conchiglioni, ricotta and fresh cherry tomatoes. It took me just 20 minutes to get the dinner ready. Is for those busy days, when you need to put a meal on the table in half an hour.

Pasta with broccoli pesto, ricotta and cherry tomatoes (adapted from here)

Ingredients:

  • 250g Pasta conchiglioni (or other shape you have/like)
  • 200g ricotta cheese (or Portuguese requeijão)
  • 6 cherry tomatoes cut into quarters
  • 200g broccoli broken in small florets
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tblsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Directions

Put the broccoli into a pan with boiling water and boil for 4 minutes. With a skimmer drain and keep aside. Reserve the water to cook the pasta.

Put the broccoli with the rest of the ingredients, except for the ricotta and tomatoes, in a food processor and pulse a few times, until you have a nice cream mixture.

Meanwhile cooked the pasta according to the package instructions. Once cooked, drain and put the pan back into the hob at a low heat. Splash it with olive oil, stir the pasta with the pesto and the ricotta just for 2 minutes. Serve with the fresh tomatoes on top.

broccoli pesto

