Tags

, , , , ,

In Portugal Poppe is a uncommon surname and I like that, but is conducive to misunderstandings:

– What’s your name?

– Poppe

– What? Poppey? Popper ? top? pote? ohhhh  Pop! Like rock!

– Yes, but with two p’s and an e, please.

If you are Portuguese and your name is Poppe, you have 99% of chance of being my relative.

I found these two photographers, they have Poppe in their names but they are not my relatives because they are Germans. Apparently in Germany Poppe seems to be a common surname. I wonder if my grand grand grandfather was a German?

So Alexa and Nina are two great photographers and it’s a shame they aren’t portuguese so I could introduce them as my cousins or something, although I have a cousin who is a great photographer too: Marta Poppe.

MARTA POPPE

NINA POPPE

ALEXA POPPE

